WhatsApp messed it up for good last January when it announced its new privacy conditions, conditions that also had to be accepted in order not to lose functionality in its app. The company was going to start sharing more usage data with its parent, Facebook., and let us know about three months before its entry into force.
Accounts will not be deleted but as if they were deleted
On May 15, two things can happen if we are WhatsApp users: that we have accepted the new privacy conditions and, therefore, we accept that WhatsApp shares more usage data with Facebook or that we have not accepted them. If our case is the second (although the GDPR protects European users), we will lose functions of the application following the next steps:
- The first thing we will lose is the app's chat list. We will continue to be able to access the conversations from the mobile notification if someone writes to us, but we will not be able to enter on our own as the conversation does not appear in the app's list.
- The first weeks after May 15 we will continue to be able to make and receive calls from WhatsApp.
- Weeks later, WhatsApp will finish limiting its functions disabling notifications, preventing us from receiving messages and losing, now, access to both incoming and outgoing calls.
More information | WhatsApp