In case you've been to Mars in recent months, WhatsApp reminds you: either you accept their new privacy policies before May 15, or you will no longer have access to the messaging platform.
For weeks, months even, we have been circling the new terms and conditions of use of WhatsApp, draconian policies that have caused a massive exodus towards Telegram and other options, and that first made the leaders of the Facebook messaging service back down for now complete a getaway to ahead that will undoubtedly harm thousands of users.
In addition, as our colleagues from GizChina told us, from Facebook they have finally answered the question of what will happen if we do not accept:
WhatsApp will not delete your account. However, you will not have all the functionalities of WhatsApp until you accept. […] For a period of time, you will be able to receive calls and notifications, but you will not be able to read or send messages from the app.
In that same message on his blog, WhatsApp also rushed to expand the detail to justify the new terms, notifying that they are working on new ways to chat with companies or buy directly from WhatsApp, which will be optional even accepting the conditions of use.
They also confirmed that messages will remain end-to-end encrypted, something that they now presume but that took longer than it should have arrived, and they warn that a banner with all the information so that we can review the terms as calmly as we need before accepting them definitively.
At least, you should know that indeed the new terms do not provide Facebook, parent company of WhatsApp, the possibility of accessing our data nor to our personal information, and only really affect conversations with business accounts…. And you, are you willing to stop by to continue using WhatsApp?
Related topics: Applications, Free applications, Social networks, WhatsApp