Almost 10 years after its launch, about 200,000 people still use a Xiaomi Mi 2

How to remove the Gmail service from your Google account


So you can delete your Gmail account without losing your Google account.

Gmail is one of the most important and most used email clients in the world, not for nothing is it free and it works really well. What more could you want?

Virtually everyone here has a Gmail address, basically because it is essential to have a Google account and therefore be able to use such important services as YouTube, Google Maps or simply start an Android device.

The Gmail trick that will free you from spam forever

But, Is it possible to separate Gmail from Google? Imagine that we have a multitude of applications purchased in the Play Store or music purchased in YouTube Music and what we want is to delete our Gmail account but not lose Google's. Possibly many of you believe that it is not possible and is that Gmail has always been something inherent to the great G.

Well, you are wrong because although many of you do not know it, we can delete Gmail and continue to maintain our Google account. How is it possible?

Steps to delete Gmail from your account from an Android mobile

How the option to recover an email in Gmail works

Say goodbye to Gmail forever? It is possible and without losing our Google account

It is possible that you don't want to keep keeping your Gmail address, either because you do not use that account or for any other reason, but in turn you do not want to lose your Google account.

Well, deleting your Gmail address without modifying anything else is really simple. As we say we are only going to delete our Gmail address, not our Google account.

As Google itself explains, the steps are really simple:

  • On our Android smartphone or tablet, all you have to do is access the Settings and then Google -> Google Account
  • Click on Data and Personalization
  • In the section "Download your data, delete it or make a plan", you have to click on Delete a service or your account.
  • Next to "Gmail", press Delete
  • Follow the simple steps that will appear on the screen

What happens when I delete Gmail?

GMail for Android

IF you don't use Gmail, why not delete it?

And you will wonder, What happens when I delete Gmail?Do I lose all my information? Can't access all the content purchased with my Google account anymore? Can I no longer use my Android smartphone? Well, don't worry, nothing of this happens.

By following the previous steps and therefore by deleting our Gmail service, the following will happen:

  • All our emails will be deleted as well as the mail configuration
  • We will no longer be able to use Gmail to send or receive emails
  • No one will be able to use in the future the same Gmail address

And the most important, Only the Gmail service will be deleted and not our Google account. In other words, we will continue to have access to our activity and to all the purchases we have made on Google Play.

Sincerely few reasons occur to us for wanting to delete our Gmail account permanently, but it is never again to know that it really is possible without that entails deleting any other data that we have associated with our Google account.

If once you have deleted the Gmail service you regret it, you should know that there is a solution as long as it hasn't been a long time. If not, it will be quite difficult to retrieve all the emails.

We will only have to access the official Gmail page, try to log in with our email address and follow the instructions that appear on the screen. Easier than taking a candy from a child.

Related topics: Google apps, Gmail, Google