characteristics, data sheet and price

TikTok is increasing the privacy of teen accounts automatically and by default



TikTok has been trying to increase the safety of teenagers who use the platform for a few months. Just two months ago they improved the parental control options and this Wednesday he announced an automatic and default improvement of the privacy of the accounts of minors that is already being noticed.



First, the platform is substantially changing the default privacy settings for all accounts registered by 13-15 year olds: all these profiles have been made private. Without distinction.



This means that only people authorized by the user himself will be able to see his videos. "We want our youngest users to be able to make informed decisions about what and with whom they decide to share, including whether they want to open their account to public view," they argue from TikTok.



Beyond profile privacy: restricted comments and downloads




Girl 518 517 1920



Changes also affect comments and, again, 13-15 year olds They will now be able to choose who can leave comments on their publications among their friends or nobody. The option that allows anyone to leave a message disappears for these users.



On the other hand, the functions Duo and Paste are restricted to people over 16 years old. Also, for those who are 16 or 17 years old, these default features will only be available to their friends. Of course, they can change the settings.




"By involving them early in their privacy journey, we can enable them to make more informed decisions about their privacy online." They say from TikTok










TikTok's impressive numbers in 2020 still don't explain its cultural legacy: from the ubiquitous Instagram selfie to social dancing





Also those over 16 years old will be the only ones who can allow their videos to be downloadedNot so the minors of this age. Again, for those who are 16 or 17, this option will be disabled by default.



Another function of the short video platform, which allows you to recommend your account to others, will be disabled by default for the accounts of those adolescents between 13 and 15 years old.



"By involving them early on in their privacy journey, we can enable them to make more informed decisions about their privacy online. [...] TikTok to support greater user privacy is a significant step in our ongoing commitment to keeping our youngest users safe, "says the ByteDance platform.