How to activate the useful new automatic tab grouping in Google Chrome

Google Photos and Google Docs will stop offering unlimited free storage from June 2021



Google hosts a remarkable part of our digital life: More than 4.3 million GB of data is uploaded to its most popular cloud services every day (Gmail, Google Drive and Google Photos).



And one of the keys to that success is the space it offers to host them: standard free Google accounts offer 15 GB data, and also certain services were offered outside this limit.



But now, after five years offering unlimited space for free backup copies of our photos, as well as for our text documents, spreadsheets, and presentations, Google has announced that will begin to charge for storing these files once the user exceeds 15 GB of used space.



8 month countdown



But calm: This change will not take effect until June 1, 2021, and files uploaded before that date will not be included when counting the aforementioned 15 GB free. Not, at least, until we modify them.







What's behind Unlimited Google Drive accounts sold online





That, according to Google's calculations, will mean that even when we exceed the deadline, more than 80% of users will still not have to pay for their space hosting on Google Photos for at least another three years.




Users of a Google Pixel 1-5 will be exempt from this new space limitation.




But for those who, unfortunately, already have their Google account bordering the 15 GB limit, they will have to consider from the first moment what decision to make in the case of wanting to continue uploading.



Google will notify you in advance of changes and eventual space problemsDon't worry, but you may have to consider (if you want to continue depending on Google services) switch to one of the Google One payment service modalities:



  • 100 GB: € 1.99 per month or € 19.99 per year

  • 200 GB: 2.99 euros per month or 29.99 euros per year

  • 2 TB: 9.99 euros per month or 99.99 euros per year.

Too Google's policy on inactive accounts will change: if once the change takes effect, you leave a Google account that is exceeding the space limit abandoned for 24 months, Google will proceed to delete content from it.






Comments